BP’s "transparency"


I was raised in a family that is very aware of where the products we consume come from. I didn’t get my first taste of fast food until I was 11 years old, even then I didn’t like it. Across the same vein I have always been very sensitive to where my gasoline comes from. There are several corporations that I avoid entirely; the one that has always been on my ‘safe list’ has been BP.

With the recent crisis BP is facing with the sinking of an offshore drilling site in the Gulf of Mexico I’m faced with the very basic yet frustrating question , where do I gas up now?

Now from a PR perspective how is BP doing? It’s easy to cop out and say “it’s too early to tell” because the slew of government hearings between BP PLC, Halliburton Co. and Transocean Ltd. have yet to start.

If you know me at all I don’t like to take the easy way out and I believe firmly that you have a very short amount of time to nip any problem in the bud. As I skim article after article regarding this oil spill I’m having a hard time deciphering where the transparency is. What I find interesting is that the word transparency is found in almost every article, coming from a BP rep.

What I find most frustrating is that thousands of us have fallen victim to greenwashing. In the early 2000’s BP re-branded themselves with the “Beyond Petroleum” phrase, when they launched this new campaign they claimed to be moving away from the use of oil. Nearly 10 years later BP is just as committed to using and increasing it’s fossil fuel use.

With information being released to the media about how one small piece of hardware would have stopped this whole debacle before it even started I am eager to see what the outcome of this will be. BP has now signed on with Brunswick Group to manage their PR and lobbying in the coming weeks and months. Again I’m interested to see how all of this unfolds.

I hope to see BP actually become transparent with their responses to the media instead of using round about answers like they have been since the accident on April 20.

I’m now off to figure out what oil company I can put my trust in, or maybe to buy a new bike.

Articles:

http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0510/37023_Page2.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/05/05/7-secrets-bp-doesnt-want_n_563102.html

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

