The new life of this PR kid.


78 Days since Graduation
Day 5 of internships!

<– the view from my digs. Not bad, not bad at all.

Well Folks, I’ve settled into my new home in Jackson, WY. I started my first internship at Terra PR last week and am well into my first few assignments working for them. One of which was not so PR related, but fun! Finding an old bike for us to cruise around town in to get the mail (yes we have PO boxes out here!) and go get lunch of course, people gotta eat. Friday I started my second internship at Sidney Maxwell PR, more great challenging assignments there. That I can do from the comfort of my couch with Rachel Maddow on in the background 🙂 .
The topic for today, is this wonderful chance I have. At Terra I have the chance to create my internship to a big extent. Talking with my boss earlier this week she mentioned that if there is anything I want to cover, learn, do to let her know. I’m the first intern she has had and we are both at a loss sometimes for what I should be doing. Once I get those tasks out of the way. When posed with this opportunity I was a little taken aback. I didn’t know what to ask for, all I know is I want to learn as much as I can. I don’t know enough to know what to ask for yet. So aside from some of the pretty obvious things that I want to watch and learn about i.e. client pitches, landing clients etc. I don’t know what to ask for.
So I went to my go to entry-level PR kid advice source Ron Culp’s blog. Within a day I had a response from Mr. Culp, with some great insight of course. He suggested that I get to know what it takes on the business side of running a firm including billable goals, and financial requirements that are a key part of an agency no matter the size. I have a lot of brainstorming to do in the next couple of days.

Well, here I go, off to investigate a new side of PR! I love my internships and of course the great community I’m in. It always feels like home to come back to this valley.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

