Unplug and Get Inspired

Last weekend I was bombarded by parents, grandparents, several extended family members and my boyfriend. This ment I had to unplug from the computer for the weekend. I’m not going to lie I was a little hesitant to leave my virtual world. I never considered myself a huge computer person but in the past year I’ve definitely become the kind of person who depends on it.

Unplugging occasionally is a necessary “evil,” even though it’s really not that “evil” it can be FUN! With Facebook being down for a couple hours yesterday, gasp, I thought that this was a perfect day to cover being unplugged from the internet.

I write on average five or six blogs daily. That span many topics, here covering starting off in the PR world, another focuses on greenhouses. So being creative is crucial, there are days when I sit down to write and can’t get inspired, even if I already know the topic.

So remember this, as you head out into your first job, which no doubt will require you be creative, whether it’s writing or just being creative with your time. Make sure to take time out for yourself, do something different. If you feel guilty about being unplugged thinking “In the hour and half that I go see a movie I could be answering emails and getting a head on a project.” that’s generally my first thought. Just remember if you don’t take time off occasionally you will burn out, and then you’re no good to anyone.

Here’s a list of some of my favorite things to do that help get creative juices going again.

– Going to art galleries. Getting inspired by others work and just letting your mind wander while you look at paintings and sculptures.

– Going to museums. It’s shocking to pull yourself out of our 21st century life and realize that almost all of things we rely on today didn’t exist 75 to 100 years ago. Then I like to think of what is still the same (blog about it!)

– Doing nothing, catching up on housework or spending the evening with close friends. I’ve had numerous conversations lately that have inspired posts. Not to mention when you talk to your friends about your work they often forward interesting articles to you which could be just the inspiration you need.

My challenge for you this weekend unplug; don’t turn on your phone, don’t check your email (ok, ok you can check it first thing in the morning and once in the evening just in case.) BUT don’t just sit inside and catch up on the Jersey Shore, go do something.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

