Pop Culture Confession

Confession #85372

I don’t like Glee.

I can’t do it, I can’t like it. I’ve tried, really I have. Countless times I’ve flipped on the TV (read clicked on Glee on Hulu)  and tried to get through an episode. But I can’t.

They get half way through the first song and dance or whatever and I just have to leave the room. Now this doesn’t make sense. I was a total choir nerd in high school, hell I was Second Soprano Section Leader…hello, nerd alert. There’s just a disconnect though. The choir I was in, was choir. Classically trained, kick ass teacher who motivated us like none other (we were state champs for like 8 years running. (No I didn’t go to high school for 8 years, smart ass.))

But I just, I can’t…I can’t even finish the sentence, I feel like I’m breaking up with Glee. It’s not you, it’s me.

There’s just, it’s just, some songs – most songs – need musical instruments. And there are prettier, songs out there to cover then the old, and new, pop charts. Especially if you’re going to sing them a capella.  

What it really comes down to though is Ms. Lemon would have had a stern talking with all those kids. Singing in the car like that. Rule numero uno for GH High’s choir: DO NOT SING IN THE CAR. (or to the radio in your room, or with your iPod in at the gym.) It’ll ruin your voice and breathing training.You’ll emulate the horrible tone and “technique” of Carly Rae Jepson, even if you know better.

So I’m sorry Glee, and 90% of my girlfriends, and most of the known universe. I just can’t continue this charade any longer.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

