Projecting

I work in bursts. Case and point, this post. It’s been sitting in my drafts for a couple weeks now. When I opened it to see what I was thinking about writing all that it said was:

“Knock it the %$* off.”

A few weeks back I was all sorts of tied up in projections about the future. “It’s not going to pan out the way I thought.” “What if things happen like last time?” “Oh my gosh not this again.” All those thoughts you have when you’re experiencing something that is either:

a. Similar to something you’ve experienced in the past.

or

b. Totally outside of your comfort zone. Which only ever reminds you of other times you were outside your comfort zone. (And I’d put money that you’re thinking mostly of the negative experiences.)

Let’s roll with some negative projections regarding finding a job.  “Crap, I’m 26 years old and I hate my  job, I’ll never get any of the jobs I really like that I apply for.” (I have friends in this boat, it’s a frustrating boat to be in.) Or maybe your boat is called the SS “I-just-graduated-from-college-and-spent-the-whole-summer-looking-for-a-job-without-any-luck.”  (Also not a fun boat to be in. (I’m only half sorry for the hyphen abuse.))

Here’s the thing though, all of those thoughts are just projections. Based purely on your past experience, and here’s the good news. You’re not living in the past – you’re living here and now. So be here and now. Those applications that went unanswered, the interviewes where you didn’t make it to the next round, the networking events that didn’t pan out how you’d hoped. None of those matter any more. They happened and that’s it. From those past moments you gained experience, you learned something.

So now, in this moment, you’re even more prepared for that dream job of yours. Also, note to you, that dream job – most likely won’t come in the packaging you think. It takes time to get where you want to be, and if you’re like any other human you’ll be “where you want to be” for a while then find another greener pasture.

Keep moving forward, just remember you’re only ever here and now.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

