June and July’s book – Broken a Love Story

One of my favorite roads I lived off of in Wyoming.
One of my favorite roads, that I lived off of in Wyoming.

I made it six months before I fell a bit behind. Blame the summer, blame work or blame the fact that I did not want to finish this book. Typically when you love a book you fly right through it. With this one it was so beautifully written and I felt like I was growing right along with the characters that I just couldn’t put it down. I’m definitely having book withdraw after this one.

Broken is a love story of sorts by Lisa Jones. She is a journalist that was living in the Denver area and had an assignment to go write about a “medicine man” of sorts on the Wind River Indian Reservation. It’s about her working through her own loves and habits and life story along side an Arapahoe man who had lost the ability to walk in a tragic car accident. Had he not had that jarring life experience he probably wouldn’t have become who he did, a calm and careful person so in tune with others emotions and the world around him that he could stop the fastest moving 21st century go getter dead in their tracks.

I don’t even know where to begin in reviewing this book. It’s one of those that will stick with me for the rest of my life. The struggles she was going through and the solace she found in Stanford, the “Medicine Man”, along with other characters is beautiful and heart breaking. What I realized as I was almost finished with this book is I was living a couple hours away, so just down the street in Wyoming standards, while Lisa was there going through all of this. While she was finding herself and working through life I was running from it, but was so delusional I thought I was running to it. I was in a relationship that on the surface seemed to be just right and in reality was pulling me further and further from myself. Living in a town where I couldn’t grow, where I was stifled.

This book was suggested to me by a dear friend, who hadn’t even read it. She saw the cover and read the blurb on the back and basically walked me up to the cash register to pay for it. Thank you, Ali! It came to me at the perfect time, to remind me that I can keep growing, that there’s plenty to remember of lessons learned and plenty more lessons to learn.

One of my other favorite things about the book are all the little sound bites of wisdom. Don’t worry I highlighted most of them so if you ever borrow this book from me you’ll notice it glows with florescent yellow highlighter. Below are a few of my favorites:

“The only way to endure confinement is to accept it” – Stanford Addison  this is part of “finding your center”

“Once you make contact with the forces of nature, your most practical and clear-eyed self emerges.” – Lisa Jones

“…experiences fade. Sameness will have its day, every day. We wake every morning pretty much the same as we were the day before., because that’s how we like it, and because anything else would be scary.” – Lisa Jones

“What’s bad is good. It helps you find your center.” – Stanford Addison

“…his approach to life was this: ‘I try to stay real calm and careful.'” -Lisa / Stan (I’m most likely going to carve this into my desk “calm and careful” it’s my new mantra.)

“Life is about finding your center, even when things get so painful you want to run like hell the opposite direction.” – Stan/Lisa

“Stan, who had been teaching us all the same thing – to bow to the unknown, to honor our mysterious interconnectedness, to see that the only way to security was through surrender.” – Lisa Jones

I’ll leave you there with those. I’d 110% recommend this book. It’s tied (maybe just ahead) as favorite book this year.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

