Finding Strength

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 4.28.21 PM
Little me and Grandpa and Grandma.

There are times when you just can’t any more. And not to sound too much like a Millennial girl but you just “can’t even…” can’t even, finish that task, get to the grocery store, make a real dinner (dinner last night consisted of pickles, cheese, salt and vinegar chips and a san pellegrino, because I couldn’t even…).

In those times I try to reach for a quick fix. Typically if I pull out an old song, play the piano or even watch an old favorite TV show or movie I can recuperate pretty quickly.  Sometimes you gotta pull out the bigger guns, an evening or early morning mediation or a hike or spending an hour with a person who rejuvenates you. (Like Mom, or a close friend). Then there are times when that person you know would make you feel better just isn’t around, maybe they live miles away or have left this world for the next adventure. The last one is the hardest one, all you want to do is spend 10 minutes on the phone with them or send them an email or grab lunch but that’s just not an option any more.

That’s when I get out and write a letter to them, and shove it in the back of my notebook, or I talk about them to someone who also misses them. Then there are those sweet sweet moments in time when the universe delivers you something special.

This happened to me recently when one of my cousins (a Patent Lawyer by trade) decided to look up my grandfather, who has multiple patents in the furniture industry to his name. And he found this gem.

http://www.c-span.org/video/?c4526251/taking-candidates-task (fast forward to 1:25 if you so choose)

My cousin found this about a month back, when I was flying high and things were great. Four weeks later and I’ve been hit from all sides, and am working on the climb back up to feel good.

I’m posting it in honor of Frammples, in honor of family and in honor of the universe always providing you just what you need, even if you don’t realize you need it yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

