What every young PR pro or student should be reading

There’s a lot of information floating around out there for students in Public Relations. Between the readings for class and researching for work I admit it’s hard to keep up on reading for pleasure and staying on top of what’s happening in the field. So I figured I would put together a list of books blogs and periodicals that I follow and enjoy.

Books

Engage! by Brian Solis. I know us Gen Y’ers think we know a lot about social media, heck we’ve all been on Facebook since the beginning. I still recommend this book, if nothing else it is full of well written, succinct, bits of advice that you can use when working with social media at your job. Or helping to convince that uncle of yours that social media would be great for his business (I may or may not have done that.)

They Don’t Teach Corporate in College by Alexandra Levit. It’s just that, they don’t teach corporate in college. This is a great book to have in your briefcase or backpack to consult at every stage of your new career. From applying for jobs, to interviewing to asking for a raise a year or two in. This book prepares you for all the things you expect to happen, and the few surprises you never saw coming.

Putting the Public back in Public Relations by Diedre Breckinridge and Brian Solis. Now I have to admit, I haven’t gotten around to reading this one yet. It’s on deck and I will hopefully be able to devour it in the next month or so. I’ve heard great things and the link brings you to a great description of the book. PR isn’t dead, it’s just changing.

Blogs
Check out my blog roll for more

PRBreakfastClub – You can count on them to provide an interesting and often fun take on what’s happening in the PR world, every morning. Enjoy them with your cup of coffee and kick your work day off right.

Culpwrit – I can’t plug this blog enough. Great advice for PR students and recent graduates.  Mr. Culp is an exec at Ketchem PR in Chicago. He loves helping out recent grads and often has wonderful guest posts by other experts in the field as well as up and coming PR pros.

Website / Newsletters

PRSA – If you have been a member of PRSSA you already know the valuable information they share in their newsletters, well the “grown up” version is just as wonderful. If you are currently enrolled in PRSSA and are graduating you can sign up for PRSA at an extremely discounted rate. You can find job postings, articles and more at their website. When you become a member you get a subscription to The PR Strategist and Tactics as well.

InsidePR – A weekly podcast hosted by three PR pros; Gini Dietrich, Joseph Thornley and Martin Waxman. They offer great insight into all things PR. This is a great way to get your weekly dose and keep up on everything in the field.

That should give you a jump on what you could be reading to keep up on your PR game. If I’ve missed any out let that you particularly like please let me know. I love finding new books, blogs and newsletters to read.

One thought on “What every young PR pro or student should be reading

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑